Sunday, January 31, 2010

Saturday, January 30, 2010

Friday, January 29, 2010


On pricing (from Jasmine *)

"I received the best advice from my dear friend David Jay shortly
thereafter and he said if

I was learning more,
going to workshops,
and investing in my business (which I was),

I had to continually raise the package prices
I was becoming a better photographer,

and, therefore, was worth more.
He encouraged me to raise my prices $300
for every three weddings I booked.
In 2007 my wedding business mushroomed and I booked 38 weddings,
so my prices have changed a lot since then,
as well as a lot of things in regard to my packages."

read the rest of the post here.

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Wednesday, January 27, 2010


I was in my car, around 07:00 in the morning, and the weather was pretty cold. So I took a photo with my iPhone.
A little later, it was even colder although this year the winter-weather was pretty hot - 24 C around Christmas should tell you the story :)

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

And You Call Yourself a Professional?

The point I was really trying to make was
that people who call themselves
professional photographers
should think about industry standards
when they sell on the cheap.

Denis Reggie once said,
“Don’t price yourself on
what you can afford
It was years before
I could afford myself!“


"The single biggest mistake
most new pros make is under-pricing,
not under-exposing."

read the rest of this excellent post

The two sides of Patras@Greece

Monday, January 25, 2010

Sunday, January 24, 2010

Saturday, January 23, 2010

Friday, January 22, 2010

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

My 2010 Wish-List

  • Become a full-time Wedding photographer!
  • Shoot more family portraits
  • Make money from photography to buy a Pro Canon body (1D or 1Ds series)
  • Make money from photography to buy 2 L lenses (24-70L f/2.8 and 100L f/2.8 IS Macro)
  • Be published in a photography magazine
  • Get paid to shoot a Formula 1 race!
  • Shoot a Greek A1 basketball game
  • Win a photography competition
  • Master the l*a*b color space
  • Work more with prime lenses

From a Baptism

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Cisco 877 photos

After setting up a Cisco 877 router, I thought that I should take some photographs of it!

Monday, January 18, 2010

From a Baptism

Snap shooter or picture taker to picture maker

If you want to elevate yourself from snap shooter or picture taker to picture maker, here are seven questions you should consider asking yourself before you make your next image.

1. What is the subject of the photograph?

2. What story does the photograph tell?

3. Am I taking this photograph because I care about the subject or because I just want to justify owning a camera?

4. Will this photograph matter to anyone?

5. Will this photograph help (or hurt) anyone?

6. Will this photograph move you as a photographer or move the viewer or both?

7. Will this photograph stand the test of time?

Found it here. Once again, just perfect!

Sunday, January 17, 2010

Saturday, January 16, 2010

Friday, January 15, 2010

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Roses in B&W

Find a mentor

"If you don’t have a mentor, find one. Even if it’s for a short time. Looking at the world through someone else’s eyes who has more experience than you do will make you a better photographer, one way or the other."

found it here.

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Monday, January 11, 2010

Saturday, January 9, 2010

Quote: "When not to shoot"

"One of the differences between
a professional and
an amateur photographer
is that
a professional knows
when NOT to shoot."

found it here.

More flowers

Friday, January 8, 2010

Thursday, January 7, 2010

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS II

Canon released version II of the famous EF 70-200L f/2.8 USM IS lens.